

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

March 11, 2020, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 450 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Dr. Joanna Lein, Katherine Nations, Kenneth

Parker, Ryan Walters, John Daniel and Brett

MacArthur

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Secretary Michael Rogers

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Abby Murphey and Jerry

Shay

VISITORS: None

Call to Order: Ms. Nations called the meeting to order at 1:31 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Ms. Nations asked for the roll call to be taken. Six Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig, OEQA Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the December 11, 2019 Commission Meeting: Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the minutes of the December 11, 2019 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. MacArthur:	approve	Mr. Walters:	approve

Secretary Rogers: absent

Discussion and Action on appointment of a Vice-Chair of the Commission for Education Quality and Accountability: Ms. Nations made a motion to appoint Mr. Ryan Walters as Vice-Chair for Education Quality and Accountability. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. MacArthur:	approve	Mr. Walters:	approve
C D	-1		

Secretary Rogers: absent

Discussion and Action on Reappointment of Dr. Stephoni Case, Dr. Justin Olmstead and Dr. Debbie Traywick to the Program Review Advisory Board. Dr. Lein made a motion to reappoint Dr. Stephoni Case, Dr. Justin Olmstead and Debbie Traywick to the Program Review Advisory Board. Ms. Nations seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. MacArthur:	approve	Mr. Walters:	approve
Secretary Rogers:	absent		

Program Updates: Dr. Craig spoke about legislation that could possibly impact the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability.

New Business: None

Announcements and Informational Items: None

The meeting adjourned at 3:15 P.M. The minutes of the March 11, 2020 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

	as submitted	with corrections
on July 15, 2020.		
Signed:		
Secretary M	lichael Rogers	Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director